Monday, January 6, 2014

The 47th State Joins

Today in 1913, New Mexico joined the Union as the 47th state, leaving Arizona as the only territory remaining in the contiguous United States. New Mexico's star would join the flag as part of the 48-star flag, which would remain the standard of the United States for more than 45 years. We raise both the New Mexico and the 48-star flag in the state's honor today.

No comments:

Post a Comment