Friday, January 3, 2014

The Last Frontier

Alaska gained statehood on this date in 1959 as the 49th state in the Union. We salute the independent spirit of its people by raising the unique Alaska state flag and the 49-star standard, in use only one year before being replaced with our current, 50-star flag following the admission of Hawaii in August of 1959.

By law, changes to the United States flag are officially made on July 4th following admission of a new state. Because of that, the 49-star flag was in service from July 4th, 1959 to July 4th, 1960, when Hawaii's star was added.

No comments:

Post a Comment