Sunday, June 1, 2014

Kentucky And Tennessee

 Today is Statehood Day for Kentucky and Tennessee, the 15th and 16th states to join the Union. While Kentucky joined in 1792 and Tennessee only four years later, Kentucky's star was added to the United States flag in 1795 (Kentucky also got a stripe, as the flag was changed to 15 stripes as well). Tennessee's star was only added after four other states joined the Union and the flag was changed for the first time in 23 years, modified to 20 stars and 13 stripes in 1818.

No comments:

Post a Comment